Eat Clean + Live Clean

Whipped Body Butter

FullSizeRender-8

I love this homemade whipped body butter. I don’t think I will ever buy body lotion again. This one is too easy and too delicious! My skin has been so dry during this pregnancy so I was looking for something natural (no gross chemicals) and super moisturizing and have been playing around with a couple of recipes.

This one smells delicious (like chocolate because of the cocoa butter) and it makes my skin feel so nice. I use my stand mixer to whip it up and it is almost like dessert (Jack very curiously asked me what I was making thinking it was a yummy treat).

I use it daily and just give it a few extra minutes to soak in so my skin isn’t left feeling greasy.

FullSizeRender_3

Gently melt shea butter, cocoa butter, coconut oil and almond oil together… don’t add the essential oils yet.

FullSizeRender_4

FullSizeRender_2

Let it partially firm up. You should be able to stick your finger in it and leave a little indentation but it shouldn’t be too hard.

FullSizeRender_1

Add your essential oils and whip it until it holds shape.

FullSizeRender_1

FullSizeRender

This is perfect… soft peaks have formed and it is light and fluffy.

FullSizeRender_2

FullSizeRender_4

Ingredients:
1/4 cup shea butter
1/4 cup cocoa butter
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup sweet almond oil
10-20 drops of essential oil (lavender, grapefruit, peppermint are some of my faves)
*It’ll already smell like chocolate because of the cocoa butter (citrus oils make it smell like orange chocolate)
*I often double the recipe because I go through it so quickly

Instructions:
-Combine all the ingredients together except the essential oils in a double boiler or a small pot, gently melting and stirring over medium-low heat until the mixture is liquid
-Remove from heat and allow to partially firm up (if it’s not firm enough it won’t whip)
-Once it is partially set add the essential oils of your choice
-Whip with a stand mixer or hand mixer until it is fluffy and holds its shape
-Spoon into containers of your choice

-B

Leave a Reply

